Kristen Keener, Au.D.

Audiologist located in Central Medical District, Austin, TX

38 total reviews

Testimonials & Reviews

Dr. Kristen Keener always appreciates feedback from her valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 38 reviews with an average rating of 4.89 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Kristen Keener below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.
Claire R.
Submitted 08/06/18
Dr. Keener was very professional and was able to connect both with me as an adult parent & my teenage daughter with Misophonia. She was able to give my daughter helpful techniques to decrease her response to triggers as well as introduce us to a small ear piece device that may help my daughter as well. With there being so few professionals that treat Misophonia, it was nice to find one within driving distance from our city. It’s one thing to scour the internet in search of help or to try and “self-treat” with that information (which is sometimes conflicting) and/or from the few books on the subject that are available at this time and a whole different ballgame to sit in the same room with someone who has studied Misophonia and understands the toll that this condition can take on an individual and their family. We left her office feeling hopeful. Office staff is also very friendly.
Clifford S.
Submitted 07/28/18
Dr really listen while providing great insight to my issue.
Duane T.
Submitted 05/24/18
Quality experience.
Betty S.
Submitted 04/30/18
I had a full hour of individual attention to my issues and I have a full understanding of my treatment plan.
Patricia E.
Submitted 04/19/18
Cozy office with personalized attention. Very courteous and professional staff. The technician was very knowledgeable and friendly and I am extremely pleased with the initial results. Highly recommend!
Brandon L.
Submitted 04/03/18
Kristen was very interested in helping me trying to overcome hyperacusis. She took time to understand my issues and explain the mechanisms behind it. However, the sound generator treatment she recommended has made me much worse in terms of sound tolerance. I now get headaches and pain from sound and can go to fewer places. I understand the sound generators may not work for everyone but I wish I would have been warned that this could happen.
Randal G.
Submitted 03/19/18
I have some hearing loss and pretty loud tinnitus. I set up an appointment with Dr. Keener (about 3 weeks out) based on radio testimonials I had heard. Her office was very efficient and e-savvy with reminders, paperwork, etc. She was on time the day of my visit. Her equipment seems state-of-the-art. As a scientist myself, I was able to converse with her as both a lay person and a technical person. The testing was interesting, comprehensive, and with no discomfort of any kind. For me, the results did not indicate a specific hearing aid would help me much, but we did discuss possible self-treatments for tinnitus using white noise and relaxation. There was zero sales pressure. My health insurance would not pre-cover the visit, but he office agreed to submit it anyway and refund any recovery, but even so, the cost was modest, and the information and peace of mind was valuable to me. Overall, a very professional and personal experience. I'm glad I went.
Katrina S.
Submitted 03/12/18
As soon as I walked in to Dr. Keener's office I felt a sense of privacy and that there would be more one on one attention rather than at a large office where you have multiple people coming in and out of the door and doctors are trying to rush through your exam to get to the next one. Dr. Keener was very thorough with the information that she provided me with and considerate of my symptoms. I was satisfied with my visit and would definitely recommend Dr. Keener
Randy M.
Submitted 02/14/18
Very thorough and informative first visit. Couldn’t have gone any better.
Diana E.
Submitted 02/08/18
I understand tinnunitis much better now. I have learned some things i can do to help. She was very kind and patient with me.
Sean W.
Submitted 12/27/17
Thank you for your help!
Sean W.
Submitted 12/21/17
Dr Keener is great! She is very professional, patient, and thorough.
Joey C.
Submitted 12/12/17
Our experience with Dr. Keener was great. She was very warm and her office was very inviting.
Harry N.
Submitted 12/06/17
I had four different hearing doctors before I met Dr. Keener. I have to say that she is far and away the best hearing doctor who has ever treated me. She is always respectful and sympathetic about my hearing loss and tinnitus and always goes above and beyond what a patient might expect. I would say that you can't do any better in all of central Texas if you have hearing loss than to go to Illuminear and see Dr. Keener. Most sincerely, Harry N.
James G.
Submitted 09/20/17
Very pleased! Front office staff efficient and friendly. Hearing test was extremely comprehensive and Dr explained all my options.
Violet B.
Submitted 08/31/17
Dr. Keener is professional, compassionate, and an expert in her field. She took the time tonreally get to know my daughter and to ask thoughtful questions. She didn't just treat the symptoms, she took a wholistic approach to help the patient. Truly, an amazing lady AND doctor!
Jorge H.
Submitted 05/02/17
When I first met Kristen, I had just started struggling with Tinnitus. I had no idea what was happening to me and I was slowly withdrawing. The anxiety I felt was overwhelming, and the lack of peace was overtaking my day and night. However, one day as I was on the American Tinnitus Association website I saw her name as a person in Austin that could help me. Thank God for guiding me to Kristen Keener because it was when my life started to get back to normal. Today it's been 1 year and 1 month since I started with Kristen's TRT (Tinnitus Retraining Therapy), and I can tell you that I'm doing so well. Tinnitus is still here and only Jesus can heal me from this, but my brain has learned to ignore it more and more each day. There are hours and sometimes days when I don't notice it at all. This is by God's grace and Kristen Keener's guidance through this. I would highly recommend Kristen to anyone that is suffering from Tinnitus. You will get your life back and your mind will one day be at peace again. Though tinnitus might still be there, your brain will learn to ignore it.
Cavason S.
Submitted 04/26/17
Very empathetic and was very patient when asked questions. This visit gave me a peace of mind and I'm happy I took time to make my appointment.
Tom G.
Submitted 04/25/17
Very helpful
Matthew B.
Submitted 04/24/17
It was a very good experience and Dr. Keener was very helpful.

Accepted Insurance Providers

We are happy to file your insurance claim, regardless if it is in or out-of-network. Please call the office with any insurance or financing questions.

Blue Cross Blue Shield
Medicare
UnitedHealthcare
Location
IlluminEar Tinnitus & Audiology Center
711 West 38th Street, Suite B14
Central Medical District

Austin, TX 78705
Phone: 512-598-2094
Fax: 512-434-0154
Office Hours

Get in touch

512-598-2094