Testimonials & Reviews

4.96/5

IlluminEar Tinnitus & Audiology Center

Audiologists located in Central Medical District, Austin, TX

4.96/5 Star Rating
51 total reviews

IlluminEar Tinnitus & Audiology Center always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 51 reviews with an average rating of 4.96 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about IlluminEar Tinnitus & Audiology Center below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

ERIC S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/07/22
When tinnitus arrives, either suddenly or gradually, it is so important to talk to someone who has studied the condition and understands it well. For me, fortunately, Dr. Kristen Keener was that person. I ‘d had low volume tinnitus for ten or fifteen years. I could hear the high-pitched ring anytime I wanted to, but if I didn’t try to hear it, it wasn’t there. Then, in September of 2021, the volume increased three-fold and was unrelenting. Like so many others with this condition, the early months following onset were unnerving and stressful, I felt like my life had changed for the worst permanently. I had dark thoughts. I didn’t think I would ever go to a movie or restaurant again. There were so many things listed online reported to cause tinnitus that I felt caged, and the outlook for the rest of my life was looking bleak. (The results of internet searches on tinnitus are terrifying and often predatory, be very careful about doing this and reading too much of what’s out there. It’s saddening to see how many people are willing to take advantage of people in distress.) To address my problem, I did what most people do. I went to ENT’s who confirmed that I had high-frequency hearing loss and that was the likely cause of my condition. One ENT suggested I talk to a psychiatrist right away and consider anti-depressants (that may be the right path for some). Another suggested I had TMJ and that I should see a specialist to correct it, which I did. The TMJ specialist confirmed I had the condition, but the treatment which was quite costly, did not work. I also called and visited several audiologists who advertised that they specialized in tinnitus, only to find out the extent of their treatment was providing hearing aids. Hearing aids do work for some but not all, and they did not work for me. I could not find anyone in the Houston area who truly understood tinnitus and knew how to psychologically treat it. There is no cure, but I now know there are ways to come to terms with it, and to reclaim your life. By chance, I searched online for an audiologist in Austin who specialized in tinnitus, and I found Dr. Keener, what a blessing. My first appointment did not disappoint, Dr. Keener clearly understands tinnitus and can help you come to terms with and manage the condition. You will learn how to reclaim your life. She made such a difference for me and I am so grateful. Today I do nearly everything I did before tinnitus reared up on me. Restaurants, movies, outdoor concerts, parties, coffee and medications, all included in the list of things I thought I would never do again; I now do on a regular basis. If you are struggling, I encourage you to see Dr. Keener, she can help you. Wishing all of the best, Eric Stromboe
Grace M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/19/21
Excuse me for a lengthy review. But, It is essential to make time to give great acknowledgment with thanksgiving. See, our family chose this practice to bring my father, 81 yrs old, for a hearing test and possibly hearing aids. Let me start by saying How fantastic Dr. Jenkins was with my dad. She is a superior doctor. She is patient, extremely knowledgeable; she spoke to my dad in terms that he understood. My dad was nervous going but left there pleased with answers to all his ear problems. Dr. Jenkin thoroughly explained more than expected. Next, my father received his hearing aids, and again she gave him 100% attention to teach, test, and insert them. She downloaded the app and led him through the process to get the best from them. She wrote special side keynotes for him to refer to. Lastly, with a hurtful heart, my father passed, on his follow-up appt date. Dr. Jenkins spoke to him that morning. It was a shocking moment for us all. Dr. Jenkins and Jenn, her staff, were most sincere, warm-hearted during this time. Dr. Jenkins went above and beyond calling the hearing aid company to request a full refund for my father's hearing aids, which were approved. My family will forever be grateful to Dr. Jenkins and Jenn for their compassion, professionalism, and extraordinary service. If you are looking for a professional, knowledgeable, and compassionate office, this is the office. Don't look any further. You will be glad you did. Thank you, Dr. Jenkins, for being YOU! God Bless You and your Medical Practice!
Roy G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/16/21
Dr. Keener skillfully, quickly and graciously had my ailing hearing aids up and running in less than 15 minutes. U highly recommend her and her staff.
Jose S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/31/21
Excelente atencion,la doctora muy amable contesto todas mis dudas y fue de gran ayuda excelente trato desde la recepcionista hasta la doctora es un equipo muy amable recomiendo ampliamente.
Becky R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/10/21
Dr. Jenkins is amazing. I have significant hearing loss, and not only did she help me get my life back through her considerable expertise, knowledge and skill, but she takes a personal interest in all her patients and is exceptionally compassionate and caring. She absolutely pulled out all the stops in making sure I had the best hearing aids and technology for my particular needs, but she is very practical too and fits the technology to each person's lifestyle and individual needs to make it really work for them. I highly recommend Dr. Jenkins for anyone with hearing loss.
Jeffrey K.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/27/21
Dr. Keener did a thorough evaluation of my hearing with tips on how to minimize my tinnitus
Scott E.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/19/20
Dr. Keener was exceptionally caring, thoughtful, and thorough in her testing and calibration. This may be one of the first times visiting a doctor where I actually felt comfortable asking as many questions as I wanted without feeling rushed out. Dr. Keener was so empathetic and made me feel much more in control of my tinnitus. Thank you so much!
LaChanda D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/14/20
Dr. Keener is absolutely the best in her area of expertise. She has helped me overcome years of suffering through her empathy and compassion first then techniques to live a more productive quality of life! Oh and her staff is very professional and easy to talk to! Thank you all Illuminear!
James S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/22/19
Dr. Keener gave a very thorough exam, clearly explained her findings, and suggested appropriate actions. I was very pleased with her work and recommend her highly.
Daniel T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/04/19
Very professional and thorough exam.
Donald P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/24/19
From beginning to end a great professional experience
Michael C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/11/19
The only honest evaluation I received in Austin. Dr Keener was thorough, comprehensive, and understanding of my tinnitus. I highly recommend her.
Jamie V.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/06/19
Dr. Keener was a patient listener, and I today I felt like there were finally some solutions for my constant tinnitus & mild hearing loss. She took more than enough time to listen to my concerns, answered my questions and gave me a sense of hope. I don't think I can say enough to explain how great this visit went. I would highly recommend her to anyone with tinnitus or hearing loss issues.
Jeff M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/04/19
Dr. Keener is Top Shelf. She helps me with some challenging hearing issues. I cannot say enough good things about her.
Claire R.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/06/18
Dr. Keener was very professional and was able to connect both with me as an adult parent & my teenage daughter with Misophonia. She was able to give my daughter helpful techniques to decrease her response to triggers as well as introduce us to a small ear piece device that may help my daughter as well. With there being so few professionals that treat Misophonia, it was nice to find one within driving distance from our city. It’s one thing to scour the internet in search of help or to try and “self-treat” with that information (which is sometimes conflicting) and/or from the few books on the subject that are available at this time and a whole different ballgame to sit in the same room with someone who has studied Misophonia and understands the toll that this condition can take on an individual and their family. We left her office feeling hopeful. Office staff is also very friendly.
Clifford S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 07/28/18
Dr really listen while providing great insight to my issue.
Duane T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/24/18
Quality experience.
Betty S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/30/18
I had a full hour of individual attention to my issues and I have a full understanding of my treatment plan.
Patricia E.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/19/18
Cozy office with personalized attention. Very courteous and professional staff. The technician was very knowledgeable and friendly and I am extremely pleased with the initial results. Highly recommend!
Randal G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/19/18
I have some hearing loss and pretty loud tinnitus. I set up an appointment with Dr. Keener (about 3 weeks out) based on radio testimonials I had heard. Her office was very efficient and e-savvy with reminders, paperwork, etc. She was on time the day of my visit. Her equipment seems state-of-the-art. As a scientist myself, I was able to converse with her as both a lay person and a technical person. The testing was interesting, comprehensive, and with no discomfort of any kind. For me, the results did not indicate a specific hearing aid would help me much, but we did discuss possible self-treatments for tinnitus using white noise and relaxation. There was zero sales pressure. My health insurance would not pre-cover the visit, but he office agreed to submit it anyway and refund any recovery, but even so, the cost was modest, and the information and peace of mind was valuable to me. Overall, a very professional and personal experience. I'm glad I went.

Accepted Insurance Providers

We are happy to file your insurance claim, regardless if it is in or out-of-network. Please call the office with any insurance or financing questions.

Blue Cross Blue Shield
Medicare
UnitedHealthcare